Connect with us

All News

Champions League: Qualification Schedule

LEN has come up with the Champions League tournament schedule, and the main rounds will be held in a “bubble.” This means that the main rounds will be played at three different times in two different locations.

Because the pandemic interrupted the series and no winners were announced, LEN decided to have 12 teams compete on an invitation basis. 10 teams are certainly there, including 2018-2019 winner FTC. For the remaining two spots, 18 teams will compete in Groups A and B with two subgroups each. After the final round, first-placed teams in each group will advance to the CHL main round. However, the other positions are just as important because the rest will play in the Euro Cup and when it comes to the draw, it does matter in what position the teams finished.

The CHL qualification is set to be between November 11-15 with locations in Budapest (Hungary) and Syracuse (Sicily, Italy).

Champions League Qualification teams

Group A (Syracuse, Sicily, Italy)
A1: Ortigia Siracusa (Italy), CN Barcelona (Spain), Steaua Bucharest (Romani), Jadran Split (Croatia), Primorac Kotor (Montenegro)

A2: Szolnok (Hungary), Mladost Zagreb (Croatia), Paix d’Aix (France), Ydrakos (Greece)

Group B (Budapest, Hungary)
B1: OSC Újbuda (Hungary), Sintez Kazan (Russia), Radnicki Kragujevac (Serbia), Terrassa (Spain), Tourcoing (France)

B2: Vouliagmeni (Greece), AN Brescia (Italy), CSM Oradea (Romania), Enka Istanbul (Turkey)

Secured positions in the main round

FTC (Hungary), Olympiacos (Greece), Pro Recco (Italy), CNA Barceloneta (Spain), Jug Dubrovnik (Croatia), Marseille (France), Spandau 04 (Germany), Dinamo Tbilisi (Georgia), Waspo 98 Hannover (Germany), Herceg Novi (Montenegro)

More in All News